

Merit Award for Scholarly Achievement

The UPEI Faculty Association invites **nominations of candidates for the University's 2020-2021 Merit Awards for Scholarly Achievement**. These prestigious awards consist of a cash prize and a plaque. There are three awards, one in each of the following categories:

- 1) Arts, Business, and Education
- 2) Science
- 3) Atlantic Veterinary College, and Nursing

Nominees should possess clear evidence of significant achievements in the areas outlined in Article E2.2.1c in the Collective Agreement between the University Of Prince Edward Island Board Of Governors and the University of Prince Edward Island Faculty Association, Bargaining Unit #1.

Nomination may be made by any member of the university faculty, including the nominee. Only faculty at UPEI who are currently teaching full-time are eligible for the awards. If a candidate for this award is in a research chair position, they need to build a case that their scholarly achievement is exemplary taking into consideration that the candidate has a significantly reduced teaching load. A candidate's standard file will include a letter of nomination of not more than 500 words outlining the rationale for the nomination, an up-to-date curriculum vitae, a list and samples of up to five (5) of the most significant contributions to research and/or to practical applications, a list of other indicators of the impact of the nominee's work, and contributions made to the advanced training of scholars and/or artists. Emphasis will be placed on the last 5 years of the candidate's research, and to be eligible for the award, the applicant needs to be at UPEI for at least 3 years. The candidate must submit the complete CV to allow the committee to review the last 5 years of the candidate's research. A stellar researcher can make a case for exceptional research achievement to be considered in less than 5 years. For this nomination file, you may use NSERC, CIHR, or SSHRC format if desired. Only electronic submissions (pdfs) are accepted.

The deadline for receipt of complete file is Tuesday, April 6th 2021.

All faculty members, including Chairs are strongly encouraged to consider making a nomination, so that UPEI's outstanding scholars will receive the recognition they deserve. Deans and any position from Assistant Vice-President and above are excluded from making nominations as the intent of the award is to have faculty recognize their peers.

Previous winners of the Scholarly Achievement Award are not eligible for this award within the past five years.

Please direct nominations or enquiries to the Chair of the 2020-2021 Merit Award for Scholarly Achievement Subcommittee, Edward Chung (Faculty of Arts).

A hard copy of this announcement is available in your Chair's or Dean's Office.

Objectives

The University of Prince Edward Island Faculty Association Merit Award for Scholarly Achievement was established in 1982-1983 to honour faculty members who have achieved significant and continuing productivity in scholarly research and/or artistic creation. These awards consist of a cash prize and a plaque.

There are three awards, one in each of the following categories:

- 1) Arts, Business, and Education
- 2) Science
- 3) Atlantic Veterinary College and Nursing.

Eligibility

- 1) Nominees must be faculty at UPEI who are currently teaching full-time.
- 2) Nominees must not have received this award within the past five years.

Criteria

Nominees should possess clear evidence of significant achievements in the areas outlined in Article E2.2.1c in the Collective Agreement between the University of Prince Edward Island Board of Governors and the University of Prince Edward Island Faculty Association, Bargaining Unit #1.

Nomination Procedure

- 1) Nomination may be made by any member of the University faculty, including the nominee.
- 2) Deadline for receipt of **complete files** is **Tuesday**, April 6th, 2021 and should be forwarded **ELECTRONICALLY** to:

Chair, Merit Award for Scholarly Achievement c/o Faculty Association Office <u>office@upeifa.ca</u>

Documentation

The nomination file will include:

- a letter of nomination of not more than 500 words outlining the rationale for the nomination. If a candidate for this award is in a research chair position, there needs to be a case built that the scholarly achievement is exemplary taking into consideration that the candidate has a significantly reduced teaching load.
- an up-to-date curriculum vitae to allow the committee to review the last 5 years of the candidate's research.
- a list of up to five (5) of the most significant contributions to research and/or to practical applications. Describe the significance or demonstrated importance of each contribution to the academic community and to non-academic audiences. For collaborative contributions, describe your role.
- up to 5 samples of your contributions
- a list of other indicators of the impact of your work (such as prestigious lectures, research grants and fellowships, journal editorships, scholarly consulting activities, technical innovations, membership on committees, or public educational activities)
- contributions made to the advanced training of scholars and/or artists.
- although electronic submissions (pdfs) are preferred, hard copies are also accepted if a pdf is not available (such as books).

For this nomination file, you may use NSERC, CIHR, or SSHRC format if desired.

Award Recipients from the Previous 5 Years (not eligible for nominations this year)		
Academic Year	Name of Recipient	Academic Unit
2019-2020	Tung Dung Ngo	Engineering
	John VanLeeuwen	Health Management
	Sr. Aitazaz Farooque	Engineering
2018-2019	Bishnu Acharya	School of Sustainable Design Engineering
	Collins Kamunde	Department of Biomedical Sciences
2017-2018	Shafiqul Islam	Mathematical & Computational Sciences
	Udo Krautwurst	Department of Sociology/Anthropology
2016-2017	Edward Chung	Department of Religious Studies
	Frederick Kibenge	Department of Pathology & Microbiology
	Yingwei Wang	Mathematical & Computational Sciences
2015-2016	Catherine Innes-Parker	Department of English
	Jason Pearson	Department of Chemistry
	Juan Carlos Rodriguez	Department of Pathology & Microbiology
2014-2015	J McClure	Department of Health Management
	James Polson	Department of Physics
2013-2014	Spencer Greenwood	Department of Biomedical Sciences