

# The Hessian Merit Awards for Excellence in Teaching

by a SESSIONAL Instructor

## **Objectives**

The Hessian Merit Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Sessional Instructor honours a sessional instructor for outstanding performance in teaching. This award publicly acknowledges an individual whose work has contributed to instructional excellence at UPEI.

The Hessian Merit Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Sessional Instructor is adjudicated by the UPEIFA Hessian Merit Award for Excellence in Teaching Committee, whose members are appointed by the Faculty Association Executive. The Committee comprises members from different academic areas of the university. Up to two awards for sessional instructors may be granted each academic year (for a total of up to four full-time and sessional Hessian awards), and the Committee may decide not to grant an award in any particular year.

## **Eligibility**

- 1. Nominees must be sessional instructors at UPEI who are teaching during the current semester.
- 2. Nominees must have taught at least nine credit hours at UPEI before the term in which they are nominated.
- 3. Nominees must not have received a Hessian Merit Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Sessional Instructor within the past five years.

#### Criteria

Nominees for the award should:

- exhibit a comprehensive knowledge of the subject
- be habitually well prepared for teaching sessions
- have energy and enthusiasm for the subject and the capacity to arouse students' interest in it
- encourage student participation in the teaching and learning process
- set a high standard and motivate students to attain that standard
- communicate effectively at levels appropriate to students' capacity
- emphasize understanding of the subject over mere memorization (as appropriate) in evaluating student performance
- be accessible to students outside the classroom
- demonstrate excellence in teaching, including the use of innovative teaching techniques

## **Nomination Procedure**

- 1. Each nomination must be made *collaboratively* by three or more sponsors—students, full-time or sessional faculty or staff, and/or alumni—on the standard nomination form, available from the Faculty Association Office (DSC 415) and the FA website (*www.upeifa.ca*). No more than one faculty member or sessional instructor may be a sponsor for each nomination.
- 2. Each sponsor identified on the nomination form must submit a separate confidential letter of support that addresses the criteria for the award. These letters should accompany the nomination form.

3. All nominations are due by **noon** on **Tuesday, January 16, 2024,** and should be sent ELECTRONICALLY to: office@upeifa.ca

Please use the subject line: Nomination-Hessian Merit Award for Sessional

## **Documentation**

Sessional instructors who accept the nomination will be responsible for submitting supporting documentation and an electronic teaching dossier by **noon on Friday, February 16, 2024,** emphasizing their contributions to the enhancement of teaching. This electronic dossier should be submitted as either a **PDF** file or a **Rich Text Format** (.rtf) document. The main body of the document should be no more than **twenty (20)** pages long and any appendices should total no more than **twenty (20)** additional pages. The dossier should be emailed to the Chair of the UPEIFA Hessian Merit Awards for Excellence in Teaching Committee at office@upeifa.ca. The completed dossier will contain the following material:

Obligatory	<ul> <li>a statement of teaching philosophy</li> <li>explanations of teaching methods</li> <li>complete statistical results of teaching evaluations (SOTS) from three most recent years (please provide the results for each indicator for each course)</li> <li>arrange for a confidential letter from the candidate's department chair or dean (or the appropriate designate), if not a nominator, to be sent directly to the Chair of the Hessian Committee</li> </ul>
Optional	<ul> <li>where possible, evidence that teaching methods successfully enhance student learning</li> <li>descriptions of teaching innovations</li> <li>evidence of sharing pedagogical methodology with colleagues/continuing education in teaching</li> <li>up to three of the nominee's most recent course outlines (in an appendix)</li> <li>any additional material that would support the nominee's case (in an appendix)</li> </ul>
Additional Materials (to be solicited by the committee)	statistical results of student assessments of instruction using the survey form designed for this purpose (administered by the committee)

List of Sessional Instructor Recipients for the past five years.			
Academic Year	Name of Recipient	Academic Unit	
2022-2023	Magdalena von Eccher	Music	
	Libby Osgood	Engineering	
	Carolyn Thorne	Education	
2021-2022	Heather Barnick	Sociology and Anthropology	
	Darlene Nuqingaq	Education	
2020-2021	No award recipient		
2019-2020	No award recipient		
2018-2019	Charlene VanLeeuwen	Applied Human Sciences/Education	
2017-2018	Laurie Brinklow	Island Studies	
2016-2017	Brenton Dickieson	Religious Studies/Inquiry Studies	
	Justin Gulati	Mathematical & Computational Sciences	
2015-2016	Bonnie Stewart	Education	
	Christopher Vessey	Mathematical & Computational Sciences	