## ACADEMIC PLANNING & CURRICULUM COMMITTEE<sup>1</sup>

## **Terms of Reference:**

- 1. To review existing programs and policies with a focus on quality assurance and developing initiatives.
- 2. To report to Senate the results of reviews carried out under (1) and, as appropriate, to make policy and program recommendations to Senate.
- 3. To consider curriculum issues of general academic interest and make recommendations to Senate regarding these issues.
- 4. To review course offerings, inter-faculty offerings and curriculum requirements where appropriate and to consider new courses and changes in courses and make appropriate recommendations to Senate.
- 5. To draw Senate's attention to, and make recommendations regarding, those changes in curriculum which have implications in terms of staffing or affect other Departments, Schools, Faculties, or support areas such as the Library and Information Technology Systems and Services.
- 6. The Committee will report as needed and submit an annual summary report of activities to Senate in September.

## **Composition:**

Vice-President, Academic and Research (Chair)

All Academic Deans

Associate Vice-President Students and Registrar, or Designate University Librarian

1 student nominated by the Student Union and elected by Senate

1 graduate student nominated by the Graduate Student Association and elected by Senate

## Note: The Chair will identify an Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion champion for the committee.

POSITION	INCUMBENT	EXPIRY DATE	APPOINTMENT
Vice President Academic & Research (Chair)	Greg Naterer	For term	ex officio
Dean of Arts	Sharon Myers	For term	ex officio
Dean of Business	Tarek Mady	For term	ex officio
Dean of Education	Miles Turnbull	For term	ex officio
Dean of Graduate Studies	Marva Sweeney-Nixon	For term	ex officio
Dean of IKERAS	Gary Evans	For term	ex officio
Dean of Nursing	Christina Murray	For term	ex officio
Dean of Science	Nola Etkin	For term	ex officio
Dean of Sustainable Design Engineering	Wayne Peters	For term	ex officio
Dean of Veterinary Medicine	John Vanleeuwen	For term	ex officio
Acting Registrar	Andrea Trowbridge	For term	ex officio
University Librarian	Donald Moses	For term	ex officio
Undergraduate Student (SU)	Noah Manholland	April 30, 2024	Elected by Senate
Graduate Student (GSA)	Leah Gauthier	April 30, 2024	Elected by Senate

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Approved by Senate January 16, 1987, August 30, 1996, October 16, 2009, November 2, 2012, October 12, 2018, and February 3, 2023.