## HONORARY DEGREE COMMITTEE

## **Terms of Reference**

- 1. To develop and recommend to Senate for approval regular procedures for the selection of honorary degree candidates.
- 2. To recommend to Senate, as needed, names of individuals deemed worthy to receive honorary degrees.
- 3. To develop and recommend to Senate for approval, regular procedures for the selection of a convocation speaker from among those approved by Senate as candidates for honorary degrees.
- 4. To recommend to Senate, as appropriate, occasions which should be marked by an additional, special convocation.
- 5. The Committee will report to Senate as needed with an annual report to be submitted in April.

## **Composition:**

3 faculty members from different Faculties (Arts, AVC, Business, Education, Engineering, Nursing and Science) elected by the Senate

(3-year term, initially staggered)

2 Alumni recommended by the UPEI Alumni Association & elected by the Senate (3-year term, initially staggered)

2 students from the Graduating Class nominated by the Student Union and elected by the Senate 1 member appointed by the UPEI Board of Governors drawn from among the Board members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council (3-year term)

The Chancellor of the University

The President of the University as Chair

POSITION	INCUMBENT	EXPIRY DATE
Faculty Member	Amy Hsiao (FSDE)	Jan 31, 2026
Faculty Member	Barry Linkletter (Science)	Jan 31, 2026
Faculty Member	Robert Dennis (Arts)	Jan 31, 2026
Alumni Member	Jo-Anne Knysh	Jan 31, 2026
Alumni Member	Gordon MacKay	Jan 31, 2026
1 Student Member (Graduating Class)	Akinkunle Akintan	April 30, 2024
1 Student Member (Graduating Class)	Charlize Sahley	April 30, 2024
Board of Governors Member	Brian Thompson	Jan 31, 2026
The Chancellor	Catherine Callbeck	ex-officio
The President (Chair)	Greg Keefe	ex-officio

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Approved by Senate January 13, 1989; March 17, 1989; September 6, 1996; November 2, 2012; September 14, 2018 and November 25, 2022.