COMMITTEE ON THE ENHANCEMENT OF TEACHING¹

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To foster engagement in teaching and learning activities by promoting and appreciating excellence and innovation in teaching and learning.
- 2. To support the work of the Teaching and Learning Centre (TLC) to enhance practice and scholarship of learning and teaching at the University of Prince Edward Island.
- 3. To serve in an advisory, consultative, and supporting capacity to the TLC on programs, activities, and resources for teaching and learning.
- 4. To advocate for the advancement of teaching and learning through participation in university-wide initiatives, for example, Strategic Planning, EDI Strategy, Decolonization/Indigenization Strategy, WAC Initiatives.
- 5. To serve on selection or review committees for awards or activities related to teaching and learning for the TLC.
- 6. To facilitate nominations of UPEI faculty, librarians, and instructional staff for local, regional, and national teaching awards.
- 7. Actively solicit input from students on their experiences of teaching and learning at UPEI.
- 8. To submit a summary report outlining the activities of SCENT to Senate annually.

Composition:

3-6 members of faculty for a 3-year term (No more than two from any particular faculty.)

1 sessional or laboratory instructor for a 1-year term

2 students nominated by the Student Union and elected by Senate for 1-year term

1 graduate student nominated by the Graduate Student Association and elected by Senate for a 1-year term Coordinator of the Teaching and Teaching Centre

Chair: A chair will be elected from the committee membership, normally with a term of two years.

Note: Senate will consider Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion to balance the composition of the committee.

POSITION	INCUMBENT	EXPIRY DATE
Faculty Member/Librarian - CHAIR	Stacey MacKinnon (Arts)	January 31, 2026
Faculty Member/Librarian	Amy Hsiao (FSDE)	January 31, 2025
Faculty Member/Librarian	Andrew Carrothers (Business)	January 31, 2025
Faculty Member/Librarian	Cora Gilroy (AVC - Path & Micro)	January 31, 2025
Faculty Member/Librarian	Xiao Chen (Business)	January 31, 2026
Faculty Member/Librarian	Krishna Thakur (AVC - Health Mgmt.)	January 31, 2026
Sessional Instructor/Laboratory Instructor	Paul MacLeod (Business, Education)	January 31, 2024
Undergraduate Student Member	Noah Mannholland	January 31, 2024
Undergraduate Student Member	Owen Brown (Biology student)	January 31, 2024
Graduate Student Member	Sasha Nandlal (PhD in Educ. Studies)	January 31, 2024
TLC Coordinator	Charlene VanLeeuwen	ex officio

¹ Approved by Senate March 5, 2010, November 2, 2012, September 14, 2018, and November 25, 2022.