SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS¹

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To recommend to Senate policies and procedures for governing the adjudication of scholarships, awards, bursaries, medals, academic prizes, and other distinctions.
- 2. To adjudicate scholarships, awards, bursaries, medals, academic prizes, and other distinctions.
- 3. To recommend for approval by Senate the establishment of new scholarships, awards, bursaries, academic prizes, and other distinctions upon review of new and major changes to terms of reference agreements.
- 4. To recommend to Senate best practices on student appeals and oversight of requests for reconsideration with respect to scholarships, awards, bursaries, medals, and academic prizes.
- 5. To designate representatives of the committee when required for other related needs and/or sub-committees.
- 6. The committee will submit a report of activities annually.

Composition:

Associate Vice-President of Students and Registrar (Chair)

Academic Dean elected by Senate for 3-year term

3 Faculty Members from different faculties elected by Senate for a 3-year term: no more than one member from any one faculty

Student Union Vice President Student Life for 1-year term

Graduate Student Association executive member for 2-year term

The Chair will identify an Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion champion for the committee. Senators are asked to consider the principles of EDI in the nominating and selecting of committee members.

POSITION	INCUMBENT	EXPIRY DATE	APPOINTMENT
Associate VP Students and Registrar (Chair)	Andrea Trowbridge	For term	ex officio
Faculty Dean	TBA	TBA	Elected by Senate
Faculty Member	Pamela Bastante (Arts)	June 30, 2026	Elected by Senate
Faculty Member	Katie Hoddinott (AVC)	June 30, 2026	Elected by Senate
Faculty Member	Katelyn Smallwood- MacDonald (Nursing)	June 30, 2026	Elected by Senate
UPEI Student Union VP Student Life	Divya Daboo	For term	ex officio
UPEI GSA Executive Member	Paulina Hernandez	For term	ex officio
Scholarships, Awards, Financial Aid (non-voting)	Erin Morozoff	For term	ex officio

¹Approved by Senate January 30, 1987, January 27, 1989, October 3, 2008; June 14, 2013, September 14, 2018 and February 3, 2023.