(For immediate release)
UPEI Faculty Association to Celebrate Faculty Accomplishments during Virtual Event.

Members of the UPEI Faculty Association will celebrate the recipients of Faculty Association Awards both 2020 and 2021 during a special virtual event on Wednesday May 5, 2021 at 6:00pm EDT. The 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 Faculty Association Awards recipients are:

Merit Award for Scholarly Achievement:
  • Dr. Marya Ahmed
  • Dr. John VanLeeuwen
  • Dr. Trung Ngo
  • Dr. Aitazaz Farooque
Merit Award for Outstanding Service:
  • Dr. Fred Kibenge
  • Dr. Jim Randall
  • Vicky Johnson
Hessian Merit Award for Excellence in Teaching:
  • Dr. Derek Lawther
  • Dr. Susan Graham
  • Dr. Richard Raiswell
Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership:
  • Dr. Charlene VanLeeuwen

Members of the UPEI Faculty Association wish to congratulate these colleagues on their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward to celebrating with them during a special virtual event scheduled for this Wednesday evening. The accomplishments of fourteen retirees will also be recognized by the deans of their respective Faculty at this special event.

  • AVC
  • Education
  • Nursing
  • Arts/Island Studies
  • Science

Nominations for Faculty Association Awards are adjudicated by sub-committees of peers from across the UPEI campus. The award recipients will be celebrated with the reading of citations prepared by the adjudication committee and the presentation of a plaque.

The 2021 Awards event will acknowledge the retirees and award recipients from both 2020 and 2021 since last year’s event was cancelled due to the pandemic.

Charlene VanLeeuwen, Awards & Scholarships, Chair.