Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership

Nominations are now being accepted. The Deadline for nominations has been pushed until Wednesday, January 31, 2024. All supporting documents and dossier are due Monday, March 4th, 2024.

About the Award

The Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership acknowledges those individuals who exemplify such excellence and those who contribute more generally to the improvement of the quality of university teaching at the University of Prince Edward Island.

The award is named for Janet Pottie Murray and was created by her daughter, Dr. Shannon Murray. In her daughter’s words this award is “in recognition of her model of leadership in learning despite the fact that she has never taught; but leaders support, encourage and direct others, and that’s what she has done. Those whom she has supported have been fortunate to be publicly recognized for their work; but the best leaders, and the best teachers, are not always those who are most visible.”

The Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership is adjudicated by the UPEIFA Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership Sub-Committee, whose members are appointed by the Faculty Association
Executive. The Sub-Committee comprises members from different academic areas of the university. One award may be granted each academic year, and the Sub-Committee may decide not to grant an award in any
particular year.


  • Nominees may be any member of the UPEI Faculty Association (sessional, term, tenure-stream, permanent). The award could be split under certain circumstances – when, for example, the leadership is clearly collaborative.
  • Nominees must not have received the Janet Pottie Murray Award for Educational Leadership within the past five years.

Guidelines and Forms

Click HERE for Nomination Guidelines

Click HERE for the Nomination Form

Subcommittee Members

FA RoleNameDepartment and ContactTerm
ChairSam KolahgarBusiness
[email protected]
MemberDavid VarisIKERAS
[email protected]
MemberKenneth MacKinnonEducation
[email protected]
MemberNazanin BehzadanEconomics
[email protected]
MemberScott CassidyBusiness
[email protected]
MemberSuzanne RathBusiness
[email protected]

Past Winners

Academic YearName of RecipientAcademic Unit
2022-2023David VarisIKERAS