The past academic year has been difficult for the Communications Committee—as it has been for everyone else connected with the Faculty Association in any capacity. The Committee’s job is to get out information about issues facing Members and news about the Association’s campaigns and activities. But in the fluid situation in which we have all found ourselves this year, this has proven very difficult. With the Executive focussed on enforcing the Collective Agreement and helping Members protect their rights as the pandemic has tried to re-write the way we do our jobs and our relationship with the University, this has left little time for new initiatives.

Nevertheless, we produced one issue of the Microfiber—watch for a new name for our communications bulletin coming soon. The website subcommittee met regularly to fine-tune our new(ish) website. Members of the Committee also attended a CAUT training session workshop on media messaging in January.

I would like to thank, Mike Arfkin (co-chair), Laurie Brinklow, Kim Mears, Ariana Patey, Nia Phillips and Chris Vessey for all of their toil on behalf of the committee this year, and to Ashley Hansen, the Association’s Professional Officer, for her support.

Finally, I would also like to thank Sharon Myers for her service to this committee as co-chair (ex officio) in her capacity as President.

By Richard Raiswell (co-chair)